William and Kate's kiss
(AP Photo/John Stillwell, Pool) (John Stillwell/AP)

In the past few weeks, I was not in involved in all the hoopla surrounding the the anticipated royal nuptials. I had little intention of tuning in to see Kate meet William at the alter, but this morning when I turned on pbs and realized I had missed it all, I was wishing I had seen it. 1.5 million were people standing outside Buckingham Palace to witness the newlyweds step out onto the balconey. I suddenly felt slightly gitty, waiting to see the dress. It did not disappoint and neither did Kate. Both her and her new groom could really have topped their own wedding cake! Okay, I clearly got sucked into the fairy tale obsession that seems to have taken over the world.   I thought it would be appropriate to make this post about art inspired by the royal couple:

The royal Stamp of Approval

Artist, Peter mason, created this portrait of William and Kate from 3,000 postage stamps. The 3ft by 4ft work of art was crated in two weeks. The artist worked at an average of 6 hours a day.

All dolled up

William and Kate dolls

This one is from the Etsy shop, uneekdolldesigns. It’s sold, so you’ll have to ask for a commission is you want this lovely set

Etched in history

Artist, George Vlosich created this etch-a-sketch drawing with one unbroken black line. It took him 80 hours. Afterward he preserved the drawing by removing the powder from the etch-a-sketch.

“Meat “The Duke and Dutchess of Cambridge

Food artist, Prudence Staite created this portrait of the royal couple. It is completely edible and  made of meat and other foods from a traditional dinner roast.

